Tasty Kabob: No Kabob; All Tasty

I’m well overdue on my review on Tasty Kabob, but they say good things come to those who wait, right? So thanks for waiting, this is good. I’ve been enjoying this Middle Eastern cuisine since about mid-March, when the “super clean green machine” first braced the GW campus with its presence. Ever since day one, students have been raving on Twitter and across campus about how delectable the food is, and I’d have to agree. GW students love this truck so much that during finals we managed to get them to come back for dinner and the later hours for anyone needing a good study break. Boy did it cure my exam blues. They are also very responsive to their Twitter followers, as the founders are recent grads of George Mason. I like getting to know my food truck tweeps on a personal level 🙂

The photo above was taken this summer, and judging by the picture and the title, you are probably wondering why it’s called Tasty Kabob if they do not serve actual kabobs. To be honest, I don’t know, but the name has stuck and the food is so good that they could probably call it Ass on a Stick and people would still flock there for lunch.

Tasty Kabob offers variations of chicken and lamb: either with rice, in a pita or over a salad (and on Fridays they offer chicken with mushrooms- mm is that one good). My food truck partner in crime, Rachael, and I usually opt for the chicken and lamb combo over salad, which comes with a side of chickpeas and spinach. I’ve had a very hard time deciding which meat I like better. The lamb is tender and juicy while the chicken is sweet and moist, with a little kick of heat at the end. Really, in the battle between lamb and chicken, it’s a straight tie. And then there’s the sauce- oh the sauce, what a vital component to any well-balanced dish. The dill cream sauce is the perfect accent on both meats and dresses the salad perfectly, while the spicy sauce gives just the amount of heat without overpowering everything else. I can tell you, however, that I enjoy the chickpeas more than the spinach. They are so flavorful, perfectly cooked and, well, there’s pretty much nothing wrong with them. The spinach is good and makes me feel better about consuming so much meat and gluttonous goodness but it is still spinach and it is still runny and a bit bland. Popeye would probably be impressed, though.

To give you an idea of my affection for Tasty Kabob, I will leave you with this: most food trucks I try once. With Tasty Kabob, I know I am going to continue to go back for more, until I leave DC for good (who knows when that is). I usually never get the same thing twice, anywhere. At Tasty Kabob, it is always lamb and chicken with chickpeas and spinach. I will make an exception on Fridays for chicken and mushrooms and I’m secretly dying to try their newest side of okra!

See you soon, TK!

Your avid supporter (you should know this by now),

LOLKatz41

Leave a Reply

