Meatless Monday is My New Favorite Day of the Week

Yes, I am one of those converted foodies who has begun partaking in the global movement to improve not only my own health but also the health of our beautiful Mother Earth, Meatless Monday. In fact, I have expanded my anti-meat eating and have tried to cut all red and processed meats out of my diet, and order tofu at any opportunity that comes my way. Don’t worry! I’m not going all crazy vegan or vegetarian on you- I still love chicken, turkey and seafood. I guess you can call me a ‘flexitarian.’ My pistachio crusted tofu was created after reading about it on the Village Voice on the menu at Bird Bath Bakery in New York City. I thought, “hmm, well I don’t live anywhere near there but I can definitely recreate that dish.” And a miracle was born! This tofu is so delicious and so easy; I crave it during the week, anxiously awaiting the next Monday so I have an excuse to eat it. But really, who needs an excuse to eat something so healthful and delicious?

Ingredients (makes 2-3 servings)

1 block firm tofu, cut into 8 rectangles

¼ cup low sodium soy or teriyaki sauce

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

1/3 cup shelled unsalted pistachios

¼ cup panko bread crumbs

1 tbsp chopped rosemary

Salt and pepper

Directions

Line a cookie sheet with tinfoil and preheat an oven to 425 degrees. Pat the tofu dry with a paper towel. Try to remove as much moisture from the tofu as possible, as dry tofu absorbs more liquid and more flavors! Mix the soy or teriyaki sauce with the Dijon mustard in a bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste. Toss the tofu in the marinade and let sit for 15 minutes.

Remove the tofu and pat off any extra liquid with a paper towel. In a food processor, combine pistachios, panko, rosemary and salt and pepper. Blend until the mixture resembles the texture of bread crumbs. Empty mixture onto a plate or pie tin and dredge each piece of tofu until every side is completely covered.

(yes, I used a coffee filter to pat down the tofu… we had no paper towels!)

Spread tofu on baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, turning it once halfway through. Tofu should be a little brown and crispy, and warm to the touch. Serve with stir fried vegetables, rice or salad.

Leave a Reply

