iScream for Ice Cream!

I know it’s December and barely anyone is thinking about ice cream, but personally, I could go for this frozen creamy goodness any day of the year. I have been lucky enough to inherit my friend’s ice cream maker for the semester while she is abroad, and let me tell you, it’s been the best accessory in my kitchen. So far I’ve made Alton Brown’s Banana Ice Cream and Simply Recipes’ Peppermint Ice Cream, and I predict an influx of more recipes in the near future as final exams approach (ice cream counts as a healthy, motivational study snack, right?). I know everyone is on the foodie instagram craze right now, but I must admit, ice cream looks particularly appetizing on this iPhone app. See for yourself, and try one of these sinfully rich and drool-worthy recipes soon!

250364_3891075481756_343078153_n

The banana ice cream had an insanely natural banana flavor- no banana extract necessary here! Despite having real mashed bananas in it, the texture was smooth and rich. I actually felt like I was eating something healthy!

74223_4240924507763_612078564_n

Now this is just an all-around holiday people pleaser. The ice cream is so custard-y and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I had to use a significant amount more of the peppermint extract than what the recipe called for, to get that true peppermint flavor. Adding crushed candy canes on top really makes this dessert special, beautiful and perfect for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

