Sunday Afternoon Tea at Sisters Tearoom

I know it has been months since I last blogged, but now as a funemployed college graduate- yes, I said funemployed- I finally have some time on my hands. After an exciting annual trip to Blossom Music Center for my all-time favorite concert, Dave Matthews Band, last night, I woke up this morning in desperate need of some sustenance. I spent the afternoon with my mom at Sisters Tearoom in Mentor, Ohio, and let me tell you, my stomach- and my soul- is very satisfied.

After having years of catering experience, two sisters, Julia and Teresa, wanted to try their luck with a tearoom. They’ve been in business since March 2013, and they’ll be glad to tell you business is booming.

The house itself is the epitome of cute. Each of the three dining rooms is full of tables with mismatched teacups, saucers, water glasses and table cloths, not to mention antique artwork, old family photos and little trinkets that you would never be able to buy anymore. Hues of pink and green align the wallpaper and drapery, and like I said, none of the place settings match with each other, which I love.

The "Dining Room"

The “Dining Room”

B6249306-040C-41B5-B351-5F76FC3408EA

Mismatched!

Although there is a full a la carte menu, my mom and I went the traditional route and had the afternoon tea menu, which included one scone, four tea sandwiches, four mini desserts and a pot of tea each, for only $15! There is also a high tea menu which includes soup and salad, but I couldn’t fathom the thought of any more food than we were given.

6F241E57-10BA-42FF-B4F4-1DE0DEFA6D59

All of the food came out together on traditional stacked tea plates. Up top were the scones- soft and warm, clearly fresh out of the oven, served with homemade lemon curd and clotted cream. The flavor of the day was lemon poppy seed, which paired perfectly with the tart yet sweet curd. On bottom were our tea sandwiches. We chose four sandwiches each out of six, and ironically, my mom and I chose the same four (I guess the apple really doesn’t fall far from the tree). I had an open faced cucumber sandwich with green goddess cream cheese and dill, a mild curried chicken salad with grapes on a croissant, a roast beef sandwich with horseradish mayo on a cheese roll and an open faced egg salad sandwich on a piece of bread cut out in the shape of a star. Each sandwich was flavorful, properly dressed and delicious. I think my favorite was the curried chicken salad sandwich, not only because I love curry so much but because the combination of savory curry with sweet red grapes on a buttery croissant was just divine. It was also the biggest sandwich, which is never a bad thing.

For dessert we had a selection of light as air chocolate cake with a chocolate sauce drizzled over the top, sweet  pineapple upside down cake- maraschino cherry and all, a dense and delicious coconut macaroon, and, my personal favorite, a lemon-lavender cake with the perfect flavor balance between the two star ingredients. Sometimes lavender desserts can be a bit overpowering, but this cake was perfection.

And you can’t have afternoon tea without a pot of piping hot tea, now can you? With a selection of over a dozen teas, I went with a maple blackberry tea. It had just the right amount of fruity and sweet notes, and since I like my tea extra sweet, I was delighted to see the sugar cubes were actually shaped into little teapots and cups! I told you this place screams adorable.

Altogether my mom and I had an excellent experience at Sisters Tearoom, and I can only hope my funemployment streak goes on long enough that I will have a chance to return!

Sisters Tearoom
8595 Mentor Ave.
Mentor, OH 44060
(440) 290-6556

Leave a Reply

