Revisiting Egg Salad

I am proud to admit that I have formed the healthy habit of packing my lunch for work. I began experimenting with delicious recipes last summer that I could bring to work and not have lunch envy of my co-workers who tend to buy theirs.  Last year, I realized the amazing substitution secret of Greek yogurt for mayonnaise, and I’ve stuck to that substitution ever since. I used it in egg salad last year, and tried out a different recipe this year, which I know I’ll make again and again (it’s so addicting).

I also discovered the power of endive leaves- the perfect dipping utensil with a slightly bitter bite and crisp crunch. No need for chips! So the next time you’re in the mood for something creamy, spicy, crunchy and all-around satisfying to bring to lunch, try my Curry Egg Salad with Endive.

IMG_4112

INGREDIENTS (makes 1 serving)

2 hard boiled eggs, slightly mashed

¼ cup chopped granny smith apple

½ head endive leaves

⅛ cup greek yogurt

2 tbs. dijon mustard

1 tbp. white wine or white balsamic vinegar

1 tsp. curry powder

1 ½ tbsp. chopped cilantro

salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS


In a medium bowl, combine yogurt, mustard, vinegar, curry powder, salt and pepper. Make sure it tastes to your liking before adding eggs. Mix vigorously to combine. Fold in apples and cilantro. Just before eating, spoon enough egg salad to fill each endive leaf.

One comment

Leave a Reply

