Curry Kale Chips

Kale is nothing new. It’s becoming the trendiest green in all the land, and for good reason. It’s insanely good for you, versatile, not too strongly flavored, and since it’s heftier than most other leafy greens, can stand up to just about anything, which means a lot in the winter when all you want is a hearty bowl of soup.

But I’m not here to talk about soup. I’m here to talk about chips! Again, the heft of the kale makes it the perfect candidate for a crunchy, healthy chip. You can use any kind of kale: curly, Lacinato, even red Russian. I chose to go with Lacinato, or Tuscan kale, because it has a smoother texture than curly kale, has a thinner stem so you can basically eat the whole thing, and has larger leaves, perfect for big chips and dipping.

photo 1

Kale wilts down a lot. It is full of water so when you add heat, the water evaporates (duh). I cut up my kale chips pretty large because I know they’ll shrink. Plus, who wants dingy little one-bite kale chips? Not me.

photo 3

I add a little bit of extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper and curry powder to the leaves before I put them in the oven. This way, everything sticks, and I can always add more seasoning if needed when they’re done cooking.

photo 4

See? Look at how much they shrunk down!

My favorite part about kale chips is you can eat the equivalent of an entire bag and not feel guilty. Add a great salsa or dip and you have the perfect snack or appetizer. I found this amazing sweet potato salsa that actually has both kale and curry in it, so I knew it would go perfectly with my chips (and it did!).

photo 5

Check out the salsa here.

INGREDIENTS

1 bunch Lacinato kale, rinsed and chopped into 3-inch squares

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

1-2 tsp. curry powder, depending on your taste

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On a baking sheet, toss kale with olive oil, salt, pepper and curry powder. Arrange leaves in one single layer and bake 12-15 minutes, until crisp. Enjoy with your favorite dip or salsa! How easy is that??

Leave a Reply

