A Feast Fit for a Queen

So now that it’s officially been forever since I last blogged, I’m finally making a conscious effort to get back into blogging, thanks to this phenomenal and inspring article by Josh Ozersky. He gives a unique perspective on how to be a successful food writer, and although I’m still trying to figure out how I can fulfill all of his seven commandments, I figured I’d start with (what I believe to be) the most important:

Write everything out. Whole sentences. The right words. A beginning, a middle, an end. It doesn’t matter where. Write out blog posts. Write out tweets. Write out Facebook posts. Write texts, if there is time. And do it often, as often as you possibly can. Get your reps.

I recently moved to Union Square, aka the mecca of all things delicious, especially brunch. Not that finding a delicious brunch in New York City is a hefty task, but finding a brunch with a great cocktail, great service and at a reasonable price is a little harder than you’d think. Lucky for me (but maybe unlucky for my wallet), Feast is right across the street from my home, and this past Saturday, I fell in love.

My boyfriend and I trailed in on a rainy afternoon, post-workout and ready to drink. We were hungry, excited and, given the weather conditions, had nothing else to do that day and figured may as well indulge a little.

The first thing I noticed upon walking into Feast was the atmosphere. It was cozy and comfy, and juuuusst trendy enough to make me feel like I was getting a good meal, without feeling like it was hipster overload. Mason jar glasses, wooden tables and exposed lightbulbs was all it took to win me over.

The way their brunch works is you pay $26 for a choice of cocktail or unlimited coffee, a variety of adorable small plates to begin with and an entree. UM, HELLO, that’s like, a TON of food for a very reasonable price in NYC. Plus, you are definitely going to leave full and satisfied until dinner.

There is probably nothing I dislike more than when you go to a tapas or small plates restaurant with, lets say, 4 people, and they bring you tapas in quantities of 3, or some other number that just isn’t conducive to sharing. Well, lucky for me again, Feast doesn’t do that. See what I mean:

photo 1

How cute is this?! The top plate included two slices of warm, cinnamon-y, moist zucchini-carrot bread, two perfectly sized fluffy scones, and two slices of a moist challah bread topped with cinnamon apples. Like grandma’s house during the holidays. The bottom plate had two glasses of greek yogurt with fresh blueberries and homemade crunchy granola, two glasses of a refreshing watermelon apple juice and two bruschetta toasts. Remember, it’s late summertime, so these tomatoes were so sweet, juicy and bursting with flavor. The garlic was a nice touch, too. The BF and I were smart in saving half of each pastry until the end of the meal so we had a little bit of dessert. 🙂

We always share plates when we go out because we both want to experience as much as we possibly can while still remaining financially responsible. So, we shared:

photo 3

The baby back Benedict  a perfectly poached egg atop fresh, creamy grits, sauteed spinach and an insanely delicious corn cake, all topped with barbecue hollandaise and, oh yeah, accompanied by a juicy-tender baby back rib off the bone (!!!). I know it’s pretty hard to mess up eggs Benedict, but this was by far one of my favorite versions. You could tell every element was homemade and carefully executed right before it was brought to the table. And what could be bad about starting your day with ribs?! We also shared:

photo 2

Smoked salmon with a red flannel hash and poached quail eggs. Can you see those tiny white balls at the left side of the plate? Yep, those are quail eggs. They’re so tiny and adorable, and I’m truly impressed that someone had the hand skills and time management to perfectly poach them. The salmon was buttery and smooth, and provided a nice contrast to the crunchy crostini and tender beet-laden potatoes. While the Benedict was on the heavier side, it was nice to have a lighter dish that was just as delicious and fulfilling.

I think I was so focused on the food that I forgot to take pictures of the cocktails, but they stood up to the food in quality. I had a peach bellini and the BF had a beer-y mary. We ordered seconds.

If you can’t tell, I have fallen in love with this place. I’m already looking forward to coming back to try their dinner, and maybe even their whole-hog Monday!

So thank you, Feast, for making my rainy Saturday just a little bit brighter.

Leave a Reply

