Tropical Chia Pudding

I’m at it again with my chia pudding recipes. As I mentioned previously, I’m so in love with this breakfast option that I hope to come up with many versions to satisfy any craving, season or flavor profile. First up, Tropical!

Image

As summer slowly turns into fall I thought it’d be nice to have a breakfast recipe that still reminds me of warmer times. I found this great bag of organic shredded coconut at Whole Foods and, alas! My brain started turning.

This recipe tastes like a cross between a piña colada and a mango smoothie. Um, hello, does breakfast get any better?! Here’s the recipe for a single serving (since I know how tricky cooking for one can be): 

2 tbsp. chia seeds

⅔ cup light coconut milk

2 tbsp. toasted coconut*

½ cap pure vanilla extract

2 tbsp. chopped tropical fruit- I used papaya and mango, but I think banana, kiwi, or melon would work beautifully as well

liquid stevia, honey or sweetener of your choice to taste

In a mason jar, combine chia seeds, coconut milk, vanilla and sweetener. Seal the jar and shake well. Refrigerate for at least two hours or overnight. When you’re ready to eat, top with coconut and fruit.

*To toast coconut: preheat oven to 350. Spread coconut on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Bake in increments of 5 minutes, checking and stirring each time. Coconut burns very quickly, so keep your eyes- and your nose- on it!

Leave a comment